Users can now archive or delete Facebook posts in bulk

If you’ve ever wanted to go back to your early days on social media and remove those posts, now is a good time. Facebook has created a feature to help users “curate” their online presence, that can bulk archive or trash old posts.

Read: Apple may bundle Apple Music, TV+ and more in single subscription

The social media giant released the new Manage Activity feature that makes it easy to “more accurately reflect who you are today.” You know, not that guy with his party photos from a decade ago all over the internet.

This archiving feature is aimed at managing content that you no longer want others to see, but that you still want to keep for yourself (for that inevitable mid-life crisis). With potential employers scouring the web upon job application for anything untoward, many may want to take advantage of it.

With Manage Activity you bulk deletes goes to a waste bin and remains there for 30 days before being deleted permanently. According to Facebook: “this gives you some wiggle room in case you change your mind about deleting old posts.”

All of this can be viewed and managed in one place, with all posts being able to be filtered by specific people or date ranges. Currently this feature is only available on the mobile application and Facebook Lite – a rollout is planned for desktop users “in the future.”

Here’s how you access the new feature:

  • On your profile page, scroll down to below your ‘create new post’ box. There you can click the button that says “Manage Posts.”
  • Click the filter icon in the top-right corner.
  • Now you can filter posts by date, by whether it was posted by you or someone else tagged you, by privacy settings, etc.
  • From the filtered selection you can choose specific posts, then either Delete, Hide from timeline or Remove Tags.

If you don’t want to delete the posts, you can still just use the feature to look through your past on the platform.