Facebook will now hide your exes posts after a breakup

With Facebook’s launch in recent times impacting relationships in unprecedented ways, the social network has now introduced a new set of tools to help users manage their relationships – or, in this case, the end of a relationship.
New settings developed by the social network now offer three key abilities to control the fallout of a breakup or divorce; the site will now let users limit how much your ex sees of you on the network, limit how much you see of them, and lastly, limit your friends’ ability to see posts of the both of you as a couple.
“This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives… We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.” said Facebook Product Manager Kelly Winters in an official blog post.
The new set of features marks one of the first occaisions that Facebook has transparently notified its users of a change in the way that the social network’s privacy settings operate.
Specifically, the site’s latest changes newest tools form part of a new test that began yesterday in the United States. Facebook has confirmed that pending positive responses by users, it will begin to roll out the new set of features to additional territories.
The new features are available both from Facebook’s web presence, as well as from the company’s mobile apps, and will allow users to shield themselves from posts – including media such as photos or video – that feature their ex in any significant way.
What are your thoughts on Facebook’s new relationship tools? Should the company take further steps to become involved in its users personal affairs? Be sure to let us know your thoughts in the comments below!